Skip to the files
Cart 0

Field note N°161 · Strain review

Blood Diamond strain

In one line

Blood Diamond is described by Leafly and Weedmaps as a clone of OG Kush. No breeder is named. Leafly's profile leads with caryophyllene, then limonene and humulene, and reviewers report citrus, pine, fuel and skunk. Blood Diamond THCA flower is not the same thing as THCA diamonds, a concentrate. As of October 3, 2026, the flower is federal hemp only until December 11, 2026.

Hemp leaves in soft focus

Blood Diamond is reported as a clone of OG Kush, not a new cross, by both Leafly and Weedmaps, and neither names a breeder. Leafly’s profile leads with caryophyllene, then limonene and humulene, and reviewers describe bright citrus and pine over fuel and skunk.

The file

Field On record Source
Alias Bd Leafly
Lineage Clone of OG Kush Leafly; Weedmaps
Breeder Not named Leafly; Weedmaps
Type Indica Leafly; Weedmaps
Lead terpene Caryophyllene Leafly
Next terpenes Limonene, humulene Leafly
Reported aroma Bright citrus, pine, sometimes fuel, skunk Leafly
Reported flavor Pine, diesel, citrus (Leafly tags); sweet pine and citrus (Weedmaps) Leafly; Weedmaps
Listed THC (licensed market) At least 20%, seen above 30%; 20 to 30% range Leafly; Weedmaps
Flowering time Not published n/a

Is Blood Diamond a cross?

No, according to the two directories that list it. Leafly calls it “a clone of legendary strain OG Kush”. Weedmaps says it was “cloned from the legendary OG Kush”. A clone is a cutting, so on that account Blood Diamond is an OG Kush plant kept and named separately, not a new genetic mix.

What is missing:

Question Answer on record
Which OG Kush cut Not stated
Who selected and named it Not stated
When it appeared Not stated
Directory status Weedmaps marks its own entry: “final verification of this strain’s data is pending”

We label the OG Kush lineage commonly reported. Without a named breeder, a Blood Diamond Batch can only be judged on its own lab numbers and nose.

Blood Diamond flower vs. THCA diamonds

The name causes a real search mix-up. “THCA diamonds” are a concentrate: THCA crystallized out of an extract, usually testing far higher than any flower. They can be made from any strain. “Blood Diamond THCA” on a flower menu means the strain, sold as buds.

Blood Diamond THCA flower THCA diamonds
What it is Buds of one strain Crystalline concentrate
THCA on the COA Flower-level numbers Far higher, close to pure THCA
Strain-specific Yes Only if the label says which strain
Covered here Yes No

What does Blood Diamond smell and taste like?

Citrus and pine first, then fuel and skunk underneath. Leafly’s description is “very bright citrus with pine notes, sometimes fuel, and good old fashioned skunk”. The published terpenes line up partly: limonene reads as citrus, caryophyllene as pepper and spice, humulene as wood. The pine note is reported by reviewers, though pinene is not in Leafly’s top three.

What effects do people report?

Leafly users tag happy, sleepy and relaxed, and the page calls it “meditative” with “long-lasting, full-body effects”. Weedmaps describes “full-body relaxation” and frames it as an evening strain. These are reports, not promises, and they vary by person, dose and tolerance. None of this is medical advice.

Grow and phenotype notes

  • No published grow data. Neither directory lists flowering time, yield or height.
  • Phenotype. If the OG Kush account holds, Blood Diamond is one kept cut, so variation between honest Batches should come from grow and cure, not genetics.
  • Name reuse. With no named breeder, the name can travel without the cut. Two Batches called Blood Diamond from two farms may not be the same plant.

Blood Diamond as THCA flower: what to check on the COA

  1. Delta-9 THC at or below 0.3% by dry weight, the federal hemp test until December 11, 2026.
  2. Total THC = delta-9 + (THCA x 0.877). Example: 31.0% THCA with 0.28% delta-9 gives 27.47% total THC.
  3. Matrix. The COA should say flower or plant material, not concentrate. A diamond-range THCA number on a flower label means the wrong COA.
  4. Terpenes. Caryophyllene, limonene and humulene near the top fit the published profile.
  5. Lab and sample ID. ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation, a test date and a sample ID that matches the Batch.

Log 2026-10-03

As of October 3, 2026, Blood Diamond THCA flower is federal hemp only while delta-9 THC stays at or below 0.3%, and only until December 11, 2026. That is when the total-THC definition in Section 781 of P.L. 119-37 applies to THCA, after H.R. 6500 set the date. States may already be stricter. After December 11, Blood Diamond flower above the limit is a licensed-dispensary product only.

Similar files

  • GMO: another fuel-forward strain with a caryophyllene lead.
  • Gary Payton: pepper and fuel, same lead terpene.
  • Apple Fritter: caryophyllene, limonene and pine notes in a sweeter frame.

Sources

Not legal advice. Last reviewed October 3, 2026.

Asked at the desk

What is Blood Diamond a cross of?

It is not listed as a cross. Leafly calls it a clone of OG Kush and Weedmaps says it was cloned from OG Kush. No breeder is named on either page.

Is Blood Diamond THCA the same as THCA diamonds?

No. Blood Diamond is a strain name. THCA diamonds are a crystalline concentrate that can be made from any strain. This file covers the flower.

What does Blood Diamond smell like?

Leafly describes bright citrus with pine, sometimes fuel, and skunk. The flavor is reported as citrus and sweet pine.

How strong is Blood Diamond?

Leafly says licensed-market THC is at least 20% and has been seen above 30%. For THCA flower, only the Batch COA tells you the THCA and total THC numbers.

Log 2026-10-04 Last checked and updated on October 4, 2026.